GOLDEN, Colo., Jan 11, 2018 /PRNewswire/ — The American Alpine Club is delighted to announce the winners of the 2018 Climbing Awards honoring the most impactful climbers and conservationists within the North American climbing community. Among this year’s award honorees are big-wall free-solo pioneer Alex Honnold, teenage climbing prodigy Margo Hayes, and former US Secretary of Interior Sally Jewell.

Alex Honnold, Fish Crack 5.12b Yosemite National Park, CA 2012 [Photo] Andrew Burr

The Annual Climbing Awards, presented by The American Alpine Club, are the longest running and most prestigious awards honoring climbing and conservation achievement in North America.

Phil Powers, American Alpine Club CEO, commented, “Though climbing’s popularity has exploded recently, it was long the domain of a few bold souls. Difficult and dangerous, it is a metaphor for much in life and an inspiration to many. These awards and the people who have earned them are that inspiration.”

Top athletes recognized by the 2018 Climbing Awards include Alex Honnold, Margo Hayes, and John Roskelley. Conservation and volunteerism awards will go to Sally Jewell and Ellen Lapham.

Alex Honnold, winner of the 2018 The Robert and Miriam Underhill Award, is best known for his bold free-solo ascents in Yosemite as well as visionary ascents in Zion, El Potrero Chico, and Patagonia. Margo Hayes, winner of the 2018 The Robert Hicks Bates Award, is a climbing prodigy who as a teenager successfully climbed two 5.15a routes; considered among the most difficult routes in the world ever climbed by a woman.

More about the 2018 Climbing Awards:  

2018 Climbing Award Recipients:

Honorary Membership
For having had a lasting and significant impact on the advancement of climbing.
Recipient: John Roskelley

The Robert and Miriam Underhill Award
For his vision and commitment to achieving new standards of climbing.
Recipient: Alex Honnold

Heilprin Citation
Recognizing those who have worked to maintain and strengthen the American Alpine Club.
Recipient: Ellen Lapham

The Robert Hicks Bates Award
Recognizing a young climber with outstanding promise.
Recipient: Margo Hayes

The David R. Brower Award
Recognizing leadership and commitment to preserving mountain regions worldwide.
Recipient: Sally Jewell

The American Alpine Club serves as the central hub for the American climbing community. With over 100 years of history and more than 20,000 members strong, the AAC is a leading voice for climbers and healthy climbing landscapes.

Press Contact
Chris Dickey
Purple Orange Brand Communications


John Roskelley at Camp 3 on Menlungtse (7181m), Tibet, in 1990. [Photo] John Roskelley collection

Cision View original content with multimedia:

SOURCE The American Alpine Club